top of page

Traveling fun

I just came across this poem I wrote many eons ago:


Traveling the World:

I’d love to travel the world someday

To sight see everywhere I went

I’d love the freedom of going anywhere

Without my family or friends.

I’d want to explore new land and water

And travel from state to state

I’d like to compare the different countries

And see which ones I rate.

Soon the future will be here

And I will have some stories to tell

I know someday I will travel the world

It’s a dream I have right now

And when that day comes

where I have the traveling bug

I will journey the many roads in a VW bus.

-written in 1990 age 18

…Okay, I haven’t yet explored the world in a VW bus, but my days aren’t numbered quite yet so maybe someday!!


My husband and I have traveled to over half the states in America in our 11 years together and we plan to travel some more in the upcoming years, but for now we are in Texas enjoying the good life together. It’s layed back and chill here where everything is bigger in Texas. Aint that the truth! Let me share a little of our story with you.

So, my husband and I are selling our old truck. Things have fallen into place in such a way that we know without a shadow of doubt that this is the right time to sell it.

It’s been a great vehicle for his work and such a journey he has been on learning about driving for this company.

It’s amazing to me how quickly the years have passed by since we first moved to Texas.

It was late August in 2017 when my husband and I were living in Oahu, Hawaii. We were all packed up and ready to move to Houston where we would be closer to family. (I can share why we moved from Hawaii in another story)

Anyway, we had our car shipped to California. It was waiting for us there. We had sold or gave away just about everything we had. We lived in a 4,000 square foot beach house with the endless ocean before us… and it was sad to part with such beauty. Also it was a challenge to downsize everything we wanted we wanted to keep into several big bins and duffel bags to bring with us to the mainland.

We flew to California, picked up our car, an HHR, and took a fun road trip. It was my husband and I, and our King Charles Cavalier, little Bella. Our first stop was Yuma, Arizona. I have to admit that place was amazing!

Our friends showed us around. We went to a date farm where we were able to sample dates and learn about the history of the farm. There was even a video to watch. Next, we went to an old prison. It had closed down years before. They toured us around and we could actually walk through the old cells with old creaky bars that creaked when they were opened. It was dark, damp, and creepy. Then there was a museum to walk through afterward and we learned a lot of history about the place. We had a pool to swim in and games at the place we stayed. We cooled ourselves in the water when the temperature reached 110-120 degrees. It was a dry heat, but still way too hot for us.

It was so hot that our car A/C actually broke. We felt we had to give an arm and leg to pay for the new A/C but we weren’t used to the heat. We would be driving around with the windows down and droplets of sweat staining our clothes, and paper fans to fan ourselves. We finally decided we had to get the A/C fixed or we would die!!

We planned two weeks in Yuma, but then Hurricane Harvey hit Texas hard! We watched the news and couldn’t believe how devastating Harvey was. We were shocked to watch live what was happening there before our very eyes!

I called my aunt in Texas who shared how her entire block was flooded to her garage. We should wait it out for the time being. My husband and I were praying hard!

We were getting ready to drive toward Texas, but the major freeways were flooded so badly that no-one could get in or out of the state at that time.

We stayed glued to the news to see when would be the best time to go. Then one of the major freeways cracked and broke under the pressure from all the water. A huge barge had crashed into it. Mind boggling, really! We decided to stay longer in Yuma to wait for the water to recede.

Finally, the water went down, and several freeways were opened. We said our goodbyes to our friends. (They were so gracious to have us stay there.)

We headed toward Texas excited to start our new life together in the mainland, (As Hawaiians would say, any state outside of Hawaii is called the mainland.)

We love to travel and living on an island in the South Pacific, you could only travel the entire island in 2 ½ hours so it was a treat to travel from California to Texas!

As we neared Texas, we had no idea what to expect. We drove into the large state not realizing how many hours we would drive to reach Houston, but we were thrilled for the long, adventurous drive.

Texas is beautiful. There is a lot of flat land and farming. There is so much land that it is jaw dropping to drive for so many hours barely seeing a house or two. Once we hit Houston, it was traffic jams and hundreds of people swarming around every corner. Any stop to buy a snack or use the restroom, we ran into the nicest people. I had no idea that Texans were SO NICE but living here for more than four years now I can say Texans are the nicest people ever!

Since the devastating hurricane had hit, and as we drove through Texas; I saw many homes and buildings that still had water risen or showed water marks of how far up the side of the building the water went. I cried as we drove by so much devastation. It was heart-wrenching. So many people had lost their homes and their lives within only a few days. All they had worked for their whole entire life in their homes was gone in an instant, although people in Texas came together and helped one another. It was beautiful to see people come together when devastation struck. It took a long time to rebuild but Texans are strong, and they did it!

One of my good friends, Maria Flores is a great author of a book called, “God is Real.” It is about her experience going through Hurricane Harvey. It is an encouraging story. Check it out on Amazon!!


Back to my story about moving from Hawaii to Texas: Not long after we settled in Texas, my husband bought a truck in Houston. Thus, the truck started a whole new business for him. He was officially an independent contractor hauling large, heavy items on the flatbed truck. His exuberance about starting his own business was contagious. I was excited for him! My husband loved the job! Praise God! We have since found a smaller truck that he can use hauling the same heavy items.

It has been four years since Hurricane Harvey. God has been gracious, and we have had a few close calls for hurricanes coming our way but so far nothing. Praise God!

Please check out Maria Flores book on Amazon “God Is Real,” about Hurricane Harvey and the devastation they went through with almost losing their home and everything!


Comment suggestions about fun things to do in Texas or if you have anything to share about what’s helped make your life better.

Also check out more of my blogs at www.BeckaLJonesAuthor.com

See you here again next Thursday! Pictures are leaving Arizona and driving toward Texas :)


Check out Maria Flores – “God is Real” Faith, Hope, and Relief during Hurricane Harvey on #Amazon




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why throw cake? Is this a joke?

“Who threw a hard piece of cake at my husband’s truck while we waited to take a left at the light? We had just bought this truck… so if you are mad at the last guy who owned it… I’m sorry, but cake… r

bottom of page